New Jersey’s Statewide Minimum Wage Rises Above $14 Per Hour
New Jersey’s minimum wage has officially increased by $1.13.
Effective January 1, 2023, the state of New Jersey’s minimum wage is now $14.13 for most workers. The increase is part of legislation signed by Governor Murphy in February 2019 that gradually raises the minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2024.
Most employees have minimum wage protection under the law. However, there are exceptions such as outside salespersons, minors under the age of 18, and food service, among others.
According to a press release, the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development sets the minimum wage for the coming year using the rate specified in the law or a calculation based on the CPI, whichever is higher.
“By continuing our path to a $15/hour minimum wage, we are building a stronger and fairer economy that works for every family, beginning with supporting our middle class,” Governor Murphy shared on Twitter.
Under the law, seasonal and small employers are given until 2026 to pay their workers $15 per hour and agricultural workers are guided by a separate minimum wage timetable through 2027 per the NJDOL.